Elections board OKs 25 independent candidates

LISBON – All 25 candidates seeking to run in the November election as independents were approved following action taken Wednesday by the Columbiana County Board of Elections.

Candidates choosing to run as independents in partisan races bypass the primary election and automatically appear on the general election ballot on Nov. 5 along with the Democratic and Republican primary winners.

Elections board Director Adam Booth noted the 25 independents included three people who tried to run in the primary as either a Democrat or Republican but failed to secure a place on the ballot because their candidacy petitions lacked enough valid signatures.

Booth said the law allows Democrats or Republicans to run as independents as long are they doing so in “good faith,” which generally means they were not active in the operation of their respective parties other than just being party members. He said none of the three were party central committee members, which is a standard definition used to determine if they are active partisans.

Board members indicated they disliked the law but were bound to follow it. “The law is what it is,” said David Johnson.

Following is a list of the independent candidates:


Mayor: David Spatholt.

Council, full term: Daniel Bekar, Crystal Boggs, Richard Simpson, James King and Ted Souder.

Council, unexpired term: Richard McBane.

East Liverpool

Treasurer: Kathy Buzzard and Terry Sprague.

Council-at-large: Lawrence Applegate and Brian Kerr.

First Ward Council: Ray Perorazio.

Fourth Ward Council: Scott Barrett.


Treasurer: John Conrad and Beth Dickey-Thompson.

Council-at-large: Roy Paparodis and Dan Bailey.


Council: Kevin Siembida, Chris Earl and Sue Buchanan.


Council: Jeff Elliott, Julie Hilliard and Joe Morenz.


Council: Tonda Ross and Rosemary Goss.