WB board holds hearing on rehiring retired teachers

BELOIT-The West Branch school board Thursday night addressed multiple personnel action, including a public hearing on the rehiring of 10 retired teachers.

At the hearing held for Terry Romigh, Linda Imhoff, Michael Bardo, Dale Morckel, Jane Morckel, Nancy Whinnery, Miranda Zadigian, Robert Offenbecher, Louis Sellaroli and Joseph Ginocchi, district resident Michelle Neely questioned the economic feasibility of the process, noting that it costs more to rehire a retired teacher than to hire a new one.

Neely said that the district is missing out on quality young teachers because of the process and that she believes the district needs new teachers with new ideas. She questioned how the process works, if the positions are posted and if the teachers are held accountable for their work.

After the meeting schools Superintendent Dr. Scott Weingart explained that the retire-rehire provision is a part of the teachers union contract and that the move saves the district approximately $20,000 each year of the two-year deal for each teacher. He said that the teacher draws a salary and retirement and continues to pay into the Public Employees Retirement System, and that an additional contribution into PERS is placed into an annuity which can be drawn upon once the teacher is permanently retired.

Weingart also noted that the district benefits because the administration knows what positions will need to be filled in two years.

The district approved the rehiring of four retired teachers last year.

In other business the board approved a Reduction in Force effective July 31 of Ryan Bailey, middle school industrial technology teacher. Weingart said the program has been suspended due to decreasing enrollment trends and that Bailey will remain on the recall list for two years.

The board also hired Mary Jo Kidd and McKenzie Wallace as a high school English teachers, Madeleine Clendenin as a French teacher, Mary Jo Ferguson as an intervention specialist and Matthew Manley as Damascus Elementary principal. The board also rehired Mike Bardo as a vo-ag teacher for the 20132014 and 20142015 school years effective July 1 and hired Jennifer Fye as a home instructor on an as needed basis.

Also under personnel the board hired for the Success by Six during the 2013 summer session Lisa Carroll as an aide, Elizabeth Crawford as parent liaison, Sue Dattilio as a substitute teacher and Keli Doyle as a substitute aide. The board also accepted the resignation of Danielle Smith as speech-language pathologist.

Additionally the board granted supplemental coaching contracts for the 2013 2014 school year to Chris Tucker, Mike Sigler, Scott Manusakis, Kenny Harris, Mike Stiles, Shawn Alazaus, Todd McLaughlin and Ryan Wolf as assistant football; Bob Shepherd, eighth-grade football; Mike Helm and Chris Adams, seventh-grade football; John Schuster, assistant boys soccer; Alyssa Flitcraft, assistant girls soccer; Merrellyn Banks, assistant girls tennis; Amanda Teague and Tracey Wyatt, co-assistant cross country; Mike Falasca, middle school golf; Jennifer Woods, assistant volleyball; Andrea Soltis, junior varsity volleyball; Krista Roe, seventh-grade volleyball; Jim Laut (August) and Joe Ginocchi (September and October), middle school football; Bonnie McClellan, freshmen cheerleading; and Adrienne Lesnett, academic challenge.

The board also approved supplemental contracts for the 2013 2014 school year to John Zamarelli, auditorium supervisor; John Zamarelli, drama productions; Barbara Sulka, Future Teachers of America; Davida Wagner, Environmental Club; Robert Barnett, high school instrumental music; Bryan Stehura and Christa Harris, co-assistant instrumental music; Bryan Stehura, middle school instrumental music; Jill DeRamo, junior class advisor; Erica Polinori, National Honor Society; Frank Edie, Pep Club; Wendy Lough, senior class advisor; Brenda Sharp, sophomore class advisor; Laurie Crisan, high school student council; John Zamarelli, high school vocal music; Krista Clay, middle school vocal music; John Zamarelli, musical director; and Christy Biery, high school yearbook.

The next regular board meeting is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Aug. 29 in the high school Media Center.