Mahoning elections board releases candidate list

YOUNGSTOWN- Area races for political office took shape with the deadline to file for candidacy for the Nov. 5 ballot on Wednesday, according to the Mahoning County elections board.

In Goshen Township there are two available seats on the board of trustees. Incumbents Roger Heineman and Todd Beeson, both elected in 2009, will be running against Rob Spencer, who served for 16 years through 2009.

The West Branch school board has three available seats, with incumbents Earl V. Trimmer, elected in 2009, and President John Wallace, elected in 1994, running against Kathy Knoch-Brown, Eric Glista, James L. Laut, Robert McFerren and Glenda Sharp. Incumbent Terry Criss, on the board the past 12 years, is not seeking re-election and will be running for Smith Township trustee.

The South Range school board also has three available seats, with incumbent Ralph P. Wince, Dale R. Murray and Bruce L. Zinz running unopposed. Incumbents John Fromel, board president, and Delaine DeChellis are not running for re-election. Both have served the past eight years.

In Green Township, incumbent trustees Mark Stepuk and George Toy are running unopposed for the two board seats.

In surrounding races:

Beaver Township (choose two)

Thaddeus Ted J. Lyda (incumbent), Larry Wehr (incumbent), Randy Vegso

Berlin Township (choose two)

Denny Furman, Jodi R. Kale (incumbent), Claud Barry Mace

Ellsworth Township (choose two)

Bob Toman, Fredrick M. Houston, John Bates, Laura Lewis (incumbent), Frank Marra

Smith Township (choose two)

Bob Custar, Dave Mannion (incumbent), Terry Criss, Scott M. Showalter, Michael Sosnick

Sebring school board

full term (choose two)

Tracie McFerren, David R. Harris, Bryan Bailey, Derek Egli, Kyle Billingsley (incumbent), Melody Ward, Nancy Crewson, Ronald McDonald

unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2015 (choose one)

Cindy Christani (incumbent, board president), Phil Safkow

Western Reserve school board (choose three)

Lisa Powell, Richard Blevins, Mark S. Halls