Fair board elected

LISBON – All four incumbents retained their seats on the county fair board during voting this week by the Columbiana County Agricultural Society.

The four are John Wolf of Center Township, Robin Houlette of Elkrun Township, Paul Lease of Butler Township and Owen Unkefer of Fairfield Township.

They will be joined on the board by James Morris of Fairfield Township, who finished fifth in this week’s voting. Morris fills a seat left open when Bob Crosser stepped down this summer.

Of the 560 members of the agricultural society, 282 cast ballots on Wednesday, according the fair secretary Tresa Unkefer. “That’s a pretty good turnout,” she added.

Twelve people vied for the five open seats. Wolf led the balloting with 240 votes, with Lease second with 223. Unkefer had 179 votes followed by Houlette with 164 and Morris 154.

The other vote totals: Robert Stark, Salem Township, 110; Kurt Seachrist, Elkrun, 78; Andy Whitehead, Elkrun, 43; Greg Cusick, Fairfield, 39; Matt Earl, Center, 29; Cory Wutrick, Knox, 15; and Don Crowl, Center, 9.

Other directors on the board are Sharen Cope, the current president, vice president Steve Knizat, Scott Stear, Lynnelle Thompson-Zimmerman, Tom Moore, Katie McCoy Garren, Dennis Flugan, John Karlen, Brenda Smallwood and Elmer Zimmerman.

The secretary, Tresa Unkefer, and treasurer Shelley Bergman round out the fair leadership.

Also voted upon Wednesday was a proposed amendment to the society’s constitution extending the hours of the annual election to 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. – one hour later. Tresa Unkefer said that change was made merely to give people who work later in the day more time to get to the fairgrounds to vote.