Leetonia BOE names Jones to CCCTC board

LEETONIA- A former school board member will continue to represent Leetonia on the Columbiana County Career and Technical Center board.

The school board Thursday night appointed Doug Jones to a three-year term as the CCCTC representative beginning with this month’s meeting.

Jones is eligible to serve on the CCCTC board due to a law the state legislature approved last year stating that career and technical center boards do not have to consist of a local school board member, and instead a district can be represented by a member of the public appointed by the board. He finished his term last year after resigning his seat on the school board in August and moving out of the district.

Jennings said that Jones is being selecting because he had been elected to the school board by voters, then appointed by the school board to serve on the CCCTC board. As long as he is willing to remain the representative, he will be, Jennings explained, but once he no longer wishes to be the representative, a member of the current school board will take over.

In other business the board accepted donations of $100 from Leisa Lorch for the Baseball/Softball Scoreboard Project, $78 from Rondinelli Company Inc. for the Junior Class Fund and $100 from Diane Perkins for the Perkins/Totora Scholarship Fund.

The board also approved the Annual Tax Budget for Fiscal Year 2015 that shows general fund revenue at $7,512,320 and general fund expenses at $7,451,029, resulting in a surplus of $61,291, and approved Dala Schneider as a winter sports worker for the 2013-2014 season and Keith Drewnoski as the assistant weight room coach for the remainder of the 2013-2014 school year.

At its re-organizational meeting the board elected Jennings as president and Michael Rulli vice president, named named Jennings as OSBA legislative liaison and Larry Duko as student achievement liaison, set its service fund at $4,000, noted that board members will be paid $80 per meeting for an unlimited amount of meetings per year and agreed to continue meeting at 6:30 p.m. the fourth Thursday of each month in Room 20 of the K-12 campus.

The next regular board meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 30 in Room 20.