United board: Keep gas, oil taxes in area

HANOVERTON- The United school board Tuesday night passed a resolution requesting the majority of any gas and oil tax stay local.

The board joined other local entities in the campaign to keep the majority of money generated from a proposed severance tax on the gross production of wells stay within the jurisdictions from which the gas and oil is collected, and not be distributed through state agencies and county government.

Boardmember Mike Phillis expressed hope that other local boards will also support the campaign.

“Keep some of that (tax money) local where it should be,” he said.

At its organizational meeting the board elected Michael Ellyson as president and Phillis as vice president. The board also established compensation for board members at $125 per meeting for up to 16 meetings; set its service fund at $3,000; retained Pepple and Waggoner, Ltd., Attorneys at Law, for legal assistance; agreed to continue to meet at 7:30 p.m. the third Wednesday of each month in the high school library; and set the 2015 organizational meeting for 7 p.m. Jan. 21, 2015.

Additionally the board appointed members to committees and assignments as follows: Phillis, OSBA annual conference delegate; Lora Chestnut, OSBA annual conference alternate delegate; Ellyson, OSBA legislative liaison; RuthAnn Rinto, acting secretary at meetings when treasurer is absent; Wendy Doyle, PTO liaison; Rinto, superintendent’s advisory council; Doyle, student achievement liaison; Phillis and Chestnut, athletic council; and Ellyson, audit committee.

At its regular monthly meeting the board approved subscription to the OSBA web based update service for one year at $1,550. The annual service provides online policy materials.

The board also approved Leroy Ridgeway, Tim Hydrick and Tyler Manfull as volunteer baseball coaches and accepted donations of $290 to the high school principal’s fund from anonymous, $2,065 to Community Outreach from Crossfire LLC (gas well company) and $300 to Community Outreach from Donna Baker.