South Range OKs personnel moves

BEAVER TOWNSHIP- The South Range school board Monday night approved several personnel moves for next school year.

The board approved teachers continuing contracts for Deborah Armbrecht and Cara Belcastro; one-year limited for Susan Koulianos; and two-year limited for Ericka Burkey, Mark Geisy, Nora Novak, Melody Quiroz, Karen Rast, Jenny Benson, Donald Feren and Dana Veneskey.

The board also approved for classified staff continuing contracts for custodian Lionel Ackerman; one-year limited for cafeteria employees Patricia Burns and Rose Balog, bus aide Lisa Allen and bus drivers Meri Coler, Jack Nemergut and Dan Shipley; two-year limited for secretary Katie Toy, nurse Kim Peterson and cafeteria employee Jeanette Schneider; and a two-year limited retroactive to this year for Thomas Foster.

Additionally the board approved supplemental contracts for the 2014-2015 school year to Donee Feren, middle school athletic director; Dan Yeagley, weight training; Wayne Allegretto, assistant varsity football coach; Nick Haught, assistant varsity football coach; Rachel Storm-Baker, varsity volleyball; Sarah Fishel, assistant varsity volleyball coach; Donna Slagle, middle school volleyball coach; Todd Irons, middle school boys intramurals coach; Todd Irons, assistant boys high school basketball coach; Mark Giesy, eighth-grade boys basketball; Jeff Dicesare, high school band director; Jeff Dicesare, high school vocal director; Jeff Dicesare, middle school vocal director; Laura Elder, high school band assistant; John Veneskey, high school band assistant; John Veneskey, middle school band director; Michael Sobota, fine arts center coordinator; Lawrence Barth, facility coordinator; Brenda Petit, middle school student council advisor; Laura Elder, high school yearbook advisor; Carol Fountaine, academic challenge; Daniel Pappalardo, speech team advisor; Laura Elder, flagline advisor; Michael Sobota, high school drama coach; Laurel Sobota, assistant high school drama coach; Michael Sobota, middle school drama coach; Michele McCaughtry, middle school yearbook advisor; Lawrence Barth, senior class advisor; Dan Pappalardo, sophomore class advisor; Lisa Toy, freshman class advisor; Kristen Scott, high school student council advisor; Lisa Toy, National Honor Society; Karen Rast, Power of the Pen advisor; Carole Huff, Future Teachers advisor; Lawrence Barth, event/principal replacement dean; Lisa Toy, Saturday detention; Bonnie Molnar, English Festival; Michele McCaughtry, English Festival; Mark Giesy, MS tech club; Kate Hull, mentor; Kate Hull, lead mentor; Rachel Murray, Key Club; and Jennie Mamula, web page manager.

The board also approved several personnel moves for the 2013-2014 school year.

The board approved a memorandum of understanding with the South Range Classified Employees Association to retroactively create a position of central call off/bus dispatcher and named Connie Stewart to the position.

The board also granted a supplemental coaching contract to Paul Munson, assistant varsity baseball and approved Robin Protain as choreographer for the high school choir department.

Additionally the board granted extended service supplementals to Jeff Dicesare, 20 days, high school music; Lawrence Barth, 15 days, career connections coordinator; Brenda Petit, 12 days, middle school guidance; Ericka Burkey, 12 days, high school guidance; Kim Hvizdos, 10 days, elementary guidance; Kristen Scott, 10 days, family and consumer science; Deborah Armbrecht, Courtney Chandler, Sherri Shehan, Sue Kelly, Karen Rast, Tracy Martz and Melody Quiroz Cruz, three days, IEP special education teacher; and Rosanna Pluchinsky, 10 days, district librarian.

Also at the meeting, the board granted permission for the academic challenge team to travel to the small school national tournament in Minneapolis May 2-4 and the national tournament in Chicago May 30 through June 1. The board also accepted donations totaling $132,850.65 for the 2013-2014 school year.

A public hearing for the retire-rehire of schools Superintendent Dennis Dunham is scheduled for 7 p.m. Monday at the K-12 campus.