West Branch BOE approves benefits for administrators, confidential employees

BELOIT- The West Branch school board Sunday afternoon approved several personnel moves for the 2014-2015 school year.

The board granted eligible confidential employees and supervisors the same benefits as those in the classified union’s contract and eligible administrators the same as those in the teachers union, both effective July 1 of this year through June 30, 2016.

In addition to no increase in base salaries, all employees will contribute more toward their health insurance premiums, moving from the fixed amount stipulated in the expiring contracts to the new agreement’s 10 percent of the premium and increasing with health care costs. If the school district realizes any savings in their health care premiums (commonly known as a premium holiday) then the employees will share in portion of the savings to offset increases in health care costs.

The board also approved two-year contract with no raise in pay to Sherri Malloy as transportation supervisor, Larry Stuckey as maintenance supervisor, Lindsey Szymanski and Allison Krupko as school psychologists, Robert McCosky as athletic director and Ellie Geiger as assistant athletic director. The board also hired as teachers for the next school year Jennifer Rohaley for fourth grade and Vanessa Emmons for second grade; and accepted the resignation of Elizabeth Crawford as a counselor at the end of this school year.

Additionally the board approved supplemental coaching contracts for 2014-2015 to Daniel Dota, head football; Matt Thomas, head boys soccer; Todd McLaughlin, head girls soccer; Penny DeShields, head volleyball; Elaine Bonar, head girls tennis; Kevin Buckley, head cross country; Gary Allison, head golf; Denise Ginocchi, varsity cheerleading; Jason Brown, head wrestling; Lou Sellaroli, head boys basketball; Walt DeShields, head girls basketball; Daniel Dota, summer conditioning (football); Lou Sellaroli, summer conditioning (boys basketball); Walt DeShields, summer conditioning (girls basketball); and Nick Hoopes, safety coordinator.