CCRI hosts annual recovery conference

The Columbiana County Recovery Initiative hosted its 14th annual “Leading the Way to Recovery” Conference on June 6 at David Anderson High School. Funded by the Mental Health and Recovery Services board (MHRS), people in recovery with mental illness present workshops for their peers on living life to the fullest in spite of mental illness. The Terry Young Award for Outstanding Contribution in Promoting Recovery, given in honor of a deceased Columbiana County mental health professional, is awarded at the conference. Pictured are, from left, Eunice Burkey, 2013 award recipient; Thelma Rist, chair, MHRS board; Maureen Waybright, 2014 recipient; and Carol Bailey Floyd, keynote speaker. (Submitted photo)