Columbiana County dairy boosters crown 40th annual dairy princess

The 2018 Dairy Princess Court, from left, Erin Roush, second runner up; Tess Neville, first runner up; and 2018 Dairy Princess Macie Schrecengost. (Submitted photo)

COLUMBIANA — Macie Schrecengost was crowned the 40th Columbiana County Dairy Princess when Columbiana County Buckeye Dairy Boosters held its annual spring banquet on April 15 at the Dutch Village Inn. Twenty-one former dairy princesses attended along with 53 guests.

Macie, daughter of Eric and Beth Schrecengost of Beloit, is a senior at West Branch High School and Mahoning County Career and Technical Center. Currently employed part time at Smithvale Farms, she plans to attend Youngstown State University this fall, majoring in mechanical engineering technology.

The first runner up was Tess Neville, daughter of Bo and Megan Neville who operate Neville Dairy of Lisbon. Tess is a sophomore at Crestview High School, active in 4H, showing Holstein dairy cows, volleyball, Spanish Club, Yearbook Committee and numerous other activities.

Second runner up was Erin Roush of Wellsville, daughter of Tim and Jean Roush. Erin works at Smith Farm and is enrolled in the landscaping and design class at the Columbiana County Career Center. She is a junior at Southern Local High School, active in Future Farmers of America (FFA), cheerleading and track.

Autumn Whiteleather gave a report on her reign as the 2017 dairy princess. She attended two Holstein shows, had floats in local parades, a display at Minerva Cheese, and attended five local fairs. During the county fair she helped with ribbons during the dairy show, attended the cheese basket sale and worked four shifts at the Ice Cream Barn. Autumn is a junior at Minerva High School, active in band, dance, ballet, FFA and 4H. She is the daughter of Jason Whiteleather of Minerva and Kim Whkoff of North Canton.

Tyler Hephner and Courtney Cooper are this year’s Columbiana County Buckeye Dairy Boosters scholarship winners. (Submitted photo)

This year’s scholarship winners are Tyler Hephner and Courtney Cooper. Tyler is the son of Tad and Karen Hephner of Leetonia. A senior at Leetonia High School, he plans to attend The Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute majoring in agribusiness. Courtney, who served as the 2015 dairy princess, is the daughter of Doug and Becky Cooper of Hanoverton. She is a senior at United Local High School and plans to attend the University of Mount Union majoring in early childhood education.

The next meeting begin at 11:30 a.m. May 15 at the Courthouse Inn Restaurant in Lisbon.

Dairy princesses, starting at bottom, from left, first row, Erin Roush, 2018 second runner up; Tess Neville, 2018 first runner up; 2018 Dairy Princess Macie Schrecengost; Susan Wickersham Hawk (1967); Carol Woolf Johnson (1974); second row, Roxanne Hayman Sterling (1982 senior princess); Diane Zehentbauer Tarka (1981 senior princess); third row, Jill Sanor Amos (1988 senior princess); Sonia Altenhof Hephner (1987 junior princess); Connie Wolfgang Shaffer (1987 senior princess); fourth row, Angie Hays Arrington (1994); Becky McNeal Cooper (1992); Jennifer Smith Zehentbauer (1991); fifth row, Nancy Herron Hanek (1998); Niki Johnson Blazer (1995); sixth row, Rylee Farmer Hardy (2005); Melissa Cooper Fieldhouse (2002); seventh row, Kasey Baker Hudson (2009); eighth row, Mary Jo Brown (2011); ninth row, Elaina Zehentbauer (2013); 10th row, Sara Frasier (2014); 11th row, Kelly Ginnetti (2016); 12th row, Autumn Whiteleather (2017); 13th row, Courtney Cooper (2015). (Submitted photo)