Kent State University at Salem recognizes academic achievements

Recognized with the Campus Excellence Awards at Kent State Salem were, from left, Kelly Dragomir, Outstanding Fulltime Faculty Member; Maggie Mahon, Outstanding Staff Member; and Carrie Ann Tomko, Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member. (Submitted photo)

Salem – Kent State University at Salem recognized the academic achievements of several students during its annual Student Awards Ceremony, while also honoring the service of faculty, staff and a community partner.

The awards and recipients are:

Academic Awards

Human Services Award for Intern of Excellence: Catherine Leipply.

Human Services Award for Champion of Advocacy: Sarah Martin.

Human Services Award for Professional Dedication: Melinda Winters.

Insurance Studies Student of the Year 2018-2019: Myranda Joseph.

Insurance Studies Program Pulse Award: Michele Quinn.

Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student: Brooke Kuszmaul.

Outstanding Accounting Student: Lydia Strawn.

Outstanding Business Student: Adam Kollay.

Outstanding Computer Technology Student: Cody Dole.

Outstanding Writing Tutor: Brianna Parfaite.

Outstanding Student in English and Literature: Mariah Lanzer.

Senior Honors Thesis Award: MacKenzie Godwin, Brianna Parfaite.

Outstanding Public Speaking Award: Cory Andric, Jackson Corbisello.

Most Charismatic Speaker Award: Laura Bokanovich.

Excellence in Arboriculture and Urban Forest Management: Nathan Coufal, Marshall Somerville.

Excellence in Landscape and Turfgrass Management: Keelin McAndrew, Scott Meyer.

Outstanding Student in Psychological Research: Hayley Shasteen.

Outstanding Student in Psychology: Nick Berger.

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology Academic Excellence Award: Bethany Skeens.

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology Clinical Excellence Award: Abby Smalley.

Academic Excellence in Nursing-Sophomore: Delaney Higgins.

Clinical Excellence in Nursing-Sophomore: Lacy Marshall.

Academic Excellence in Nursing — Junior: Lea Bock.

Clinical Excellence in Nursing — Junior: Diana Yeager.

Academic Excellence in Nursing — Senior: Sarah Baker.

Clinical Excellence in Nursing — Senior: Emily Ehrenberg.

Outstanding Rural Scholars Mentor: Haylee Shasteen, Brienna Sweitzer.

Special Recognition

Undergraduate Research – Paper Competition: Rebecca Little.

Undergraduate Research – Poster Competition: Raegan Meals and Heather Lude, first place; Allysha Campbell, second place; Ivy Bulloch, third place.

Spring and Fall 2018 President’s List: Devon Asher, Alexander Barnes, Samantha Caldwell, Logan Cardinal, Connilyn Cross, Allee Davidson-Chuck, Russell Ford, Kirsten Garvey, MacKenzie Godwin, Courtney Halter, Shelby Handshue, Jennifer Hayner, Alexis Johnson, Zeina Katabi, Ashley King, Adam Kollay, Emily Krych, Mariah Lanzer, Katie Larabee, McKenzie Lemasters, Rebecca Little, McKenzie Martin, Russell McLaughlin, Raegan Meals, Rylee Meals, Amanda Minich, Amber Mondak, Brianna Parfaite, Courtney Sattler, Bethany Skeens, Preston Sosack, Lydia Strawn, Brienna Sweitzer, Melody Troyer, Melissa Tyger, Taylor Whitworth, Brianne Williams, Kristen Wood, Marina Zackeroff.

Friend of the Campus Award: John Buta and Jock Buta of Butech Bliss.

Outstanding Faculty Member: Kelly Dragomir.

Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member: Carrie Ann Tomko.

Outstanding Staff Member: Maggie Mahon.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)