West Branch wrestlers strong contenders at tournament

WELLSVILLE – Several local wrestling teams braved the snow and made strong showings at the Buck Bailey Memorial Invitational on Saturday at Wellsville High School.

West Branch was one of the strongest, finishing second with 181.5 points, falling to tournament winners Steubenville with 216.

Several Warriors made championship match appearances. Colin Boswell won the 145-pound class after defeating Shawn Livingston of Steubenville in an 11-4 decision. Travis Pidgeon (126), Cameron Thorn (132), Aaron Mohr (195) and Ian Sharp (285) finished second in their respective divisions. Austin Magnuson (113) placed third and Devin McHugh (106) placed fourth.

South Range had a big win in the 132-pound class as J.R. Renforth pinned West Branch’s Cameron Thorn. Vinnie DeRose (145) placed fourth. The Raiders finished ninth with 55.5 points.

Crestview had two fourth-place finishers in Dylan Dickey (113) and Nathan Stelts (182). The Rebels placed 17th with 23 points.

Salem’s Brandon Boyle (195) placed third while Thane Sevey (152) placed fourth.

The tournament was named in honor of longtime Wellsville wrestling supporter Tom “Buck” Bailey.


Steubenville 216, West Branch 181.50, Toronto 46, Newcomerstown 140.50, West Geauga 123.50, Steubenville Central 106.50, Edison Local 89, Oak Glen 78, South Range 55.5, Weir 40, Columbiana 34, Beaver Local 33, Salem 30, Southern Local 26, Weirton Madonna 25, Bellaire 24.50, Crestview 23, Wellsville 22.


106: Timmy Young (Steubenville Central) dec. Shane Logston (Oak Glen) 8-5.

113: Tariq Wilson (Steubenville) pin Alex Anderson (Toronto) 3:14.

120: Dakotah Goff (Steubenville) dec. Dylan Little (Newcomerstown) 9-3.

126: Alan Hayhurst (Newcomerstown) dec. Travis Pidgeon (West Branch) 6-2.

132: J.R. Renforth (South Range) pin Cameron Thorn (West Branch) 3:51.

138: A.J. Vetturini (West Geauga) pin Austin Stringer (Newcomerstown) 4:22.

145: Colin Boswell (West Branch) dec. Shawn Livingston (Steubenville) 11-4.

152: Niko Morey (Steubenville) dec. Rob Alcorn (West Geauga) 3-0.

160: David Elppert (West Geauga) dec. Myliek Green (Bellaire) 6-5.

170: Leo Herrmann (Steubenville Central) pin Brandon Jones (Steubenville) 1:54.

182: Blaine Cline (Edison Local) dec. Mitchell Meeks (Newcomerstown) 4-2.

195: Tim Alberston (Steubenville) dec. Aaron Mohr (West Branch) 7-2.

220: Alec Haynes (Toronto) pin Darnell Crider-Harris (Newcomerstown) 5:16.

285: William Poplowski (Steubenville) dec. Ian Sharp (West Branch) 11-5.


106: Cole Harris (Toronto) pin Devin McHugh (West Branch) 2:11.

113: Austin Magnuson (West Branch) pin Dylan Dickey (Crestview) 4:12.

120: Donald Starkey (Toronto) win by injury default.

126: Lane Weaver (Edison Local) dec. Josh Cornell (Oak Glen) 7-5.

132: Phillip Good (Weirton Mdonna) dec. Zack Eckenrod (Oak Glen) 1-0.

138: Tanner Gorby (Oak Glen) pin Cedro Parise (Steubenville Central) 3:46.

145: Nick Fisher (Edison Local) pin Vinnie DeRose (South Range) 3:30.

152: Charles Ross III (Toronto) win by forfeit.

160: Kyle Pritchard (Newcomerstown) dec. Austin Deffenbaugh (Steubenville) 5-2.

170: Alec Moore (West Geauga) win by forfeit.

182: Lucas Borden (steubenville Central) maj. dec. Nathan Stelts (Crestview) 10-2.

195: Brandon Boyle (Salem) dec. Jevin Leggett (Edison Local) 8-5.

220: Drone Moore (Steubenville) pin Brennan Heath (Weir) 3:55.

285: Cole Davidson (Weir) pin Tim West (Toronto) :51.