Quakers, Warriors make plans for district

BELOIT – The pursuit of state championships will continue for several West Branch and Salem wrestlers following the Division II sectional tournament at West Branch High School Saturday.

West Branch crowned four sectional champions with Alec Schopfer (106), Matt Steer (126), Mason Hughes (160) and Logan Sharp (285) that will advance to the Division II district tournament starting Friday at Alliance High School.

They will be joined in the next round by Travis Pidgeon (120) who placed second, Justin Mitchell (113) who placed third, and fourth-place finishers Alan O’Brien (132), Colin Boswell (152) and Logan Nagy (170).

Salem’s Jesse Slocum won the sectional championship in the 182 pound class and will advance to district along with Shane Metzgar (170) who finished second, Kade Byland (152) who placed third, and Trent Kellogg (106) who placed fourth.

The top four in each weight class advance to the district tournament.

TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Canfield 196, 2. West Branch 193, 3. Crestwood 187 4. Alliance 139, 5. Marlington 116.5, 6. Howland 105.5, 7. Poland Seminary 99 8. Southeast 81, 9. Salem 80.5, 10. Field 78, 11. Hubbard 54.


106: Alec Schopfer (WB) def Dante Ginnetti (POL), Dec 2-1

113: Cory Simpson (FLD) def Brennan Joseph (MAR), Fall 1:16

120: Korey Frost (CAN) def Travis Pidgeon (WB), Dec 6-2

126: Matt Steer (WB) def Georgio Poullas (CAN), Fall 3:24

132: Conner Nemec (CRE) def Brett Bailey (SE), Dec 3-1

138: Jake Zemaitis (CRE) def C.J. Frost (CAN), Fall 1:42

145: Nick Wrobel (CRE) def Spencer Nagy (ALL), Dec OT – 3-0

152: David-Brian Whisler (HOW) def Kristian Jackson (ALL), Fall 2:53

160: Mason Hughes (WB) def Jordan Radich (HOW), Dec 4-2

170: Mike Audi (POL) def Shane Metzgar (SAL), T-Fall 15-0

182: Jesse Slocum (SAL) def Tyler Busch (ALL), M-Dec 12-2

195: Kenny Jackson (CRE) def Tyler Whitacre (HUB), Dec 3-1

220: Jacob Esarco (CAN) def Mike Bell (HOW), Fall 1:06

285: Logan Sharp (WB) def Shawn Barnes (ALL), Fall 1:04