Crestview wrestlers fall at state duals

SHADYSIDE — Crestview’s run in the Div. III state team wrestling tournament came to an end with a 47-36 loss to Shadyside in the regional semifinals on Wednesday at Shadyside High School.

The hosts went on to win the state tournament berth with a 56-15 over Barnesville.

The Rebels opened the day with two forfeit wins, but then dropped the next four matches. Jacob Dean’s disqualification win at 145 got the Rebels back in the win column. Zack Strohecker (160), Dante Pelino (195) and Landon Talbert at 220 also secured later wins for the Rebels.

The state team tournament is set for Feb. 12 at St. John Arena on the campus of Ohio State University. Seedings and pairings for the tournament will be released on Friday.

OHSAA Team Tournament – Division III – Region 21

At Shadyside High School

Semifinal 1

Shadyside 47, Crestview 36

106: Spencer Tatta (Crestview) win by forfeit

113: Josh Pittman (Crestview) win by forfeit

120: Greg Quinn (Shadyside) pin Derik Houser, 4:41

126: Jacson Muldrew (Shadyside) pin Roy Wonner, 0:33

132: Josh Kahl (Shadyside) pin Isaac Ricketts, 2:27

138: Collin Hunter (Shadyside) pin Gabe Cusick, :28

145: Jacob Dean (Crestview) disq. Cody Hawthorne

152: Will Brown (Shadyside) pin Kyle Hart, 1:58

160: Zack Strohecker (Crestview) win by forfeit

170: Wyatt Schrader (Shadyside) win by forfeit

182: Billy Johnson (Shadyside) tech. fall Daniel Morgan, 18-1

195: Dante Pelino (Crestview) pin Taylor Prickett, 1:53

220: Landon Talbert (Crestview) pin Josh Robinson, 1:17

285: Donnie Meadows (Shadyside) win by forfeit

Semifinal 2

Barnesville 40, Garaway 39

106: Kyle Schlabach (Garaway) win by forfeit

113: Brayden Reynolds (Barnesville) pin Devan Petitte, 1:37

120: Ben Koshmider (Garaway) win by forfeit

126: Dillon Rothacher (Garaway) win by forfeit

132: Bryce Farrabee (Barnesville) dec. Lucas Maurer,  9-4

138: Dylan Hershberger (Garaway) dec. Dylan Glotfelty, 15-12

145: Tanner Petitte (Garaway) win by forfeit

152: Owen Oliver (Barnesville) pin Leighton Raber, 1:59

160: Brylan Clouse (Barnesville) pin Jerrod Hunt, 1:39

170: Grant Hershberger (Garaway) pin Chase Hickman, 1:02

182: Gunnar Angel (Garaway) pin Jared Dugan, 1:35

195: Caide Bunfill (Barnesville) pin Weston Woods, 2:59

220: Zack Meade (Barnesville) pin Hunter Hostetler, 3:10

285: Ward Plumly (Barnesville) pin Cody Hostetler, 0:59


Shadyside 56, Barnesville 15

106: Double forfeit

113: Brayden Reynolds (Barnesville) win by forfeit

120: Greg Quinn (Shadyside) win by forfeit

126: D.J. Hoge (Shadyside) win by forfeit

132: Jacson Muldrew (Shadyside) pin Bryce Farrabee, 5:23

138: Josh Kahl (Shadyside) pin Dylan Glotfelty, 3:38

145: Collin Hunter (Shadyside) pin Owen Oliver, 0:34

152: Cody Hawthorne (Shadyside) win by forfeit

160: Brylan Clouse (Barnesville) dec. Will Brown, 3-1

170: Billy Johnson (Shadyside) tech. fall Chase Hickman, 19-4

182: Taylor Prickett (Shadyside) pin Jared Dugan, 0:41

195: Caide Bunfill 12 (Barnesville) win by forfeit

220: Josh Robinson 11 (Shadyside) pin Zack Meade, 1:26

285: Donnie Meadows 12 (Shadyside) dec. Ward Plumly, 5-4


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)