West Branch, Columbiana get top seeds

AUSTINTOWN — State-ranked West Branch and Howland go the top two seeds for the Austintown Fitch Division II sectional-district girls basketball tournament.

West Branch (18-2 and ranked eighth) was seeded first and Howland (15-4 and ranked 13th) second at Sunday’s draw.

West Branch has reached the district final four of the last five seasons.

The opening games will be held at 1 p.m. Feb. 18, including Lakeside at West Branch and Salem at Cortland Lakeview.

SEEDS: 1. West Branch, 2. Howland, 3. Poland, 4. Struthers, 5. Ravenna Southeast, 6. Lakeview, 7. Niles, 8. Salem, 9. Crestwood, 10. Ravenna, 11. Girard, 12. Hubbard, 13. Lakeside.


Saturday, Feb. 18

Lakeside at West Branch, 1 p.m.

Crestwood at Niles, 1 p.m.

Ravenna at Ravenna Southeast, 1 p.m.

Salem at Lakeview, 1 p.m.

Girard at Howland, 1 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 23

Hubbard vs. Lakeside-West Branch winner, 7 p.m.

Crestwood-Niles winner at Struthers, 7 p.m.

Ravenna-Ravenna Southeast winner at Poland, 7 p.m.

Salem-Lakeview winner vs. Girard-Howland winner, 7 p.m.


at Austintown Fitch

Monday, Feb. 27

Hubbard-Lakeside-West Branch winner vs. Struthers-Crestwood-Niles winner, 6 p.m.

Ravenna-Ravenna Southeast-Poland winner vs. Salem-Lakeview-Girard-Howland winner, 7:45 p.m.

Thursday, March 2

District championship, 7 p.m. (Winner advances to Barberton regional)

Division III

STRUTHERS — Everyone has been looking forward to the Struthers Division III sectional-district girls basketball tournament.

It promises to be an exciting one with Inter-Tri County League White Division champion Columbiana (22-0 and ranked fourth in the state poll), defending district champion Youngtown Ursuline (9-10 after beating Canton Central Catholic 51-46 Wednesday) and Lisbon (14-5 and ranked 15th statewide) receiving the top three seeds at Sunday’s draw.

Columbiana opted not to take a first-round bye because the Clippers closed the regular season Saturday with a 53-36 win over fourth-seeded Youngstown Mooney.

Two of Lisbon’s losses came against Columbiana in thrilling finishes and the pair would meet a third time if both advance to the district semifinals.

Sectional action opens at 7 p.m. Feb. 22 with Liberty at Columbiana, United at Lisbon, East Palestine at South Range and Crestview at Springfield.

SEEDS: 1. Columbiana, 2. Youngstown Ursuline, 3. Lisbon, 4. Youngstown Mooney, 5. Canton Central Catholic, 6. South Range, 7. Springfield, 8. Crestview, 10. United, 11. East Palestine, 12. Liberty, 13. Campbell Memorial.


Wednesday, Feb. 22

Mineral Ridge at Youngstown Mooney, 7 p.m.

Crestview at Springfield, 7 p.m.

Liberty at Columbiana, 7 p.m.

United at Lisbon, 7 p.m.

East Palestine at South Range, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25

Canton Central Catholic vs. Mineral Ridge-Youngstown Mooney winner, 1 p.m.

Crestview-Springfield winner at Youngstown Ursuline, 1 p.m.

Campell Memorial at Liberty-Columbiana winner, 1 p.m.

United-Lisbon winner vs. East Palestine-South Range winner, 1 p.m.


at Struthers Fieldhouse

Wednesday, March 1

Canton Central Catholic-Mineral Ridge-Youngstown Mooney winner vs. Crestview-Springfield-Youngstown Ursuline winner, 6 p.m.

Campbell Memorial-Liberty-Columbiana winner vs. United-Lisbon-East Palestine-South Range winner, 7:45 p.m.

Saturday, March 4

District championship, 4 p.m. (Winner advances to Cuyahoga Falls regional)

Division IV

MINERAL RIDGE — Inter-Tri County League Blue Division champion Jackson-Milton and Leetonia headline the Mineral Ridge Division IV sectional-district girls basketball tournament.

Defending district champion Jackson-Milton (18-3 and ranked eighth in the state poll) is the top seed and Leetonia (14-6 and enjoying a breakout season) received the second seed at Sunday’s draw.

Jackson-Milton defeated Leetonia, 42-34, on Dec. 12.

The tournament opens at 7 p.m. Feb. 22 with Leetonia  hosting Warren JFK and Southern Local entertaining Wellsville.

SEEDS: 1. Jackson-Milton, 2. Leetonia, 3. McDonald, 4. Western Reserve, 5. Valley Christian, 6. Lordstown, 7. Mathews, 8. Warren JFK, 9. Lowellville, 10, Southern Local, 11. Wellsville, 12. Sebring, 13. Heartland Christian.


Wednesday, Feb. 22

Heartland Christian at Valley Christian, 7 p.m.

Warren JFK at Leetonia, 7 p.m.

Wellsville at Southern Local, 7 p.m.

Sebring at Lordstown, 7 p.m.

Lowellville at Mathews, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25

Heartland Christian-Valley Christian winner at McDonald, 1 p.m.

Western Reserve vs. Warren JFK-Leetonia winner, 1 p.m.

Wellsville-Southern Local winner at Jackson-Milton, 1 p.m.

Sebring-Lordstown winner vs. Lowellville-Mathews winner, 1 p.m.


at Mineral Ridge

Wednesday, March 1

Heartland Christian-Valley Christian-McDonald winner vs. Western Reserve-Warren JFK-Leetonia, 6 p.m.

Wellsville-Southern Local-Jackson Milton winner vs. Sebring-Lordstown-Lowellville-Mathews winner, 7:45 p.m.

Saturday, March 4

District championship, 4 p.m. (Winner advances to Massillon Perry regional)

Division II

BELMONT — New Philadelphia (16-3) received the top seed and defending district champion West Holmes (17-4) the second seed in the Division II East district girls basketball draw on Sunday.

Action gets under way at 7 p.m. Feb. 22 as Beaver Local hosts St. Clairsville and East Liverpool travels to Zanesville Maysville.

SEEDS: 1. New Philadelphia, 2. West Holmes, 3. Tri-Valley, 4. Maysville, 5. Cambridge, 6. McConnelsville Morgan, 7. Beaver Local, 8. Minerva, 9. Dover, 10. Philo, 11. Buckeye Local, 12. Union Local, 13. River View, 14. Indian Valley, 15. St. Clairsville, 16. New Concord John Glenn, 17. Indian Creek, 18. Claymont, 19. Steubenville, 20. Carrollton, 21. Meadowbrook, 22. East Liverpool.


Wednesday, Feb. 22

East Liverpool at Maysville, 7 p.m.

St. Clairsville at Beaver Local, 7 p.m.

Steubenville at Dover, 7 p.m.

New Concord John Glenn at Buckeye Local, 7 p.m.

Indian Creek at Cambridge, 7 p.m.

Indian Valley at River View, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25

Meadowbrook vs. East Liverpool-Maysville winner, 7 p.m.

Minerva vs. St. Clairsville-Beaver Local winner, 7 p.m.

Philo vs. Steubenville-Dover winner, 7 p.m.

Carrollton at New Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

New Concord John Glenn-Buckeye Local at West Holmes, 7 p.m.

Union Local vs. Indian Creek-Cambridge winner, 7 p.m.

Indian Valley-River View winner at Tri-Valley, 7 p.m.

Claymont at McConnelsville Morgan, 7 p.m.


Wednesday, March 1

East 1

Meadowbrook-East Liverpool-Maysville winner vs. Minerva-St. Clairsville-Beaver Local winner, 7 p.m.

Philo-Steubenville-Dover winner vs. Carrollton-New Philadelphia winner, 7 p.m.

East 2

West Holmes-New Concord John Glenn-Buckeye Local winner vs. Union Local-Indian Creek-Cambridge winner, 7 p.m.

Tri Valley-Indian Valley-River View winner vs. Claymont-McConnelsville Morgan winner, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 4

East 1

District championship, 1 p.m. (Winner advances to Zanesville regional)

East 2

District championship, 1 p.m. (Winner advances to Zanesville regional)



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)