Local teams come up short

ROOTSTOWN — South Range was the only local wrestling team to win a Division III match at the OHSAA dual team tournament Saturday.

The fifth-seeded Raiders defeated 12th-seeded Rittman, 55-24, before falling to fourth-seeded Sandy Valley, 42-35, in the quarterfinals at Rootstown High School.

Five South Range wrestlers were credited with two wins. Braden Johnson (106 and 113 pounds) recorded two pins, while Kyle Keenan (126) had a pin and a major decision, Cade Holmes (195) a pin and a decision, Michael Lally (285) a pin and a forfeit and. Anthony Czap (220) a decision and a forfeit.

In other first-round matches, eighth-seeded Norwayne beat ninth-seeded Crestview (52-24), fourth-seeded Sandy Valley beat 13th-seeded Wellsville (66-15), second-seeded Tuslaw beat 15th-seeded United (58-22) and third-seeded Waynedale beat 14th-seeded Malvern (71-7).

Top-seeded Rootstown captured the Region 20 title as the Rovers advanced to the state tournament for the third time in six years.

Rootstown defeated 16th-seeded Fairless (72-7), eighth-seeded Norwayne (50-27), fourth-seeded Sandy Valley (54-27) and third-seeded Waynedale (53-21) in the final.

The Rovers will compete in the state tournament next Sunday, Feb. 10, at St. John Arena on the campus of OHio State University.


Norwayne 52, Crestview 24

106: Gibson Moore (Norwayne) won by forfeit.

113: Jarrison Moore (Norwayne) won by forfeit.

120: Jordan Ballard (Norwayne) won by forfeit.

126: Derek Houser (Crestview) won by forfeit.

132: Austin Shepherd (Norwayne) major dec. Trey Wonner, 15-3.

138: Todd Hood (Crestview) won by forfeit.

145: Dalen Moore (Norwayne) pin Isaac Ricketts, 1:49.

152: Austin Kinder (Norwayne) pin Gabe Cusick, 5:44.

160: Chantz Arnold (Norwayne) pin Jacob Dean, 1:14.

170 Bryce Haven (Norwayne) won by forfeit.

182: Kaden Kidd (Norwayne) won by forfeit.

195: Double forfeit.

220: Dalton Rothwell (Crestview) pin Austin Holiday, 1:40.

285: Wyatt Babik (Crestview) won by forfeit.

South Range 55, Rittman 24

106: Braden Johnson (South Range) pin Garret Gartin, 2:33.

113: Joshua Gibson (Rittman) pin Gavin Pahanish, 1:40.

120: Michael Markulin (South Range) won by forfeit.

126: Kyle Keenan (South Range) major dec. Keshaun Clark, 12-0.

132: Naseem Maali (South Range) dec. Andrew Kollin, 4-0.

138: Christian Dull (Rittman) won by forfeit.

145: Devin Dillon (South Range) won by forfeit.

152: William Pancake (South Range) pin Marcus Kitchen, 2:00.

160: Logan Cormell (South Range) pin Chad Whims, 1:35.

170: Sevi Garza (Rittman) won by forfeit.

182: Ronnie Hamrick (Rittman) won by forfeit.

195: Cade Holmes (South Range) pin Rico Busic, 3:26.

220: Anthony Czap (South Range) won by forfeit.

285: Michael Lally (South Range) pin Elio Toledo, 0:48.

Tuslaw 58, United 22

106: Zach Lyons (Tuslaw) tech. fall Zach Nastari, 15-0.

113: Adam Ryder (Tuslaw) won by forfeit.

120: Joe Viront (Tuslaw) pin Lucas Hively, 0:22.

126: Braxdon Horvath (Tuslaw) won by forfeit.

132: Manny Heestand (United) major dec. Anthony Campisi, 11-3.

138: Kaid Crawford (United) won by forfeit.

145: Brier Marthey (Tuslaw) pin Trinity Hoskinson, 0:52.

152: Brennan Shirley (Tuslaw) won by forfeit.

160: Kyle Ryder (Tuslaw) pin Austin Crowell, 1:33.

170: Greg Eberhardt (Tuslaw) tech. fall Gunner McCintosh, 19-2.

182: Tyler Lippiatt (United) won by forfeit.

195: Rylee Knox (Tuslaw) pin Daniel Blum, 1:54.

220: Jake Loar (Tuslaw) pin Deric Ellyson, 2:36.

285: Cameron Marshall (United) won by forfeit.



Sandy Valley 42, South Range 35

106: Gavin Pahanish (South Range) pin Seth Armstrong, 4:37.

113: Braden Johnson (South Range) pin Jackson Boyd, 1:22.

120: Michael Markulin (South Range) techn. fall Brody Marks, 16-1.

126: Kyle Keenan (South Range) pin Kye Mastri, 0:27.

132: Devon Watkins (Sandy Valley) won by forfeit.

138: Justin King (Sandy Valley) pin Naseem Maali, 2:31.

145: Jacob Newell (Sandy Valley) pin William Pancake, 0:58.

152: Matt Gentry (Sandy Valley) pin Logan Cormell, 1:57.

160: Reece Franks (Sandy Valley) pin Shawn Oakes, 0:53.

170: Joshua Newell (Sandy Valley) won by forfeit.

182: Cameron Blair (Sandy Valley) won by forfeit.

195: Cade Holmes (South Range) dec. Curtis Delong, 7-0.

220: Anthony Czap (South Range) dec. Wyatt Moyer, 10-3.

285: Michael Lally (South Range) won by forfeit.



Rootstown 53, Waynedale 21

106: Caiden Heller (Waynedale) pin Gabe Orpesa, 3:41.

113: Caleb Edwards (Rootstown) major dec. Jake Sundburg, 13- .

120: Mike Prikryl (Rootstown) pin Seth Unkefer, 4:54.

126: Mason Kline (Rootstown) major dec. Storm Stanley, 12-1.

132: Trent Duvall (Rootstown) pin Bailey Lemon , 0:34.

138: Niko Chilson (Rootstown) pin Gabe Mathias, 0:42.

145: Cameron White (Rootstown) pin Justin Hershberger, 1:00.

152: Peyton Lemon (Waynedale) won by forfeit.

160: Chris Anderson (Rootstown) dec. Max Lemon, 12-7.

170: Micah Hershberger (Waynedale) dec. Caleb Drennen, 11-4.

182: Chris Langguth (Rootstown) won by forfeit.

195: Cam Jordan (Waynedale) won by forfeit.

220: Ryan Boyle (Rootstown) won by forfeit.

285: Logan DeAngelis (Rootstown) pin Cayden Betson, 0:45.



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)