South Range school board holds organizational meeting

BEAVER TOWNSHIP — The South Range school board has selected its leadership for the next year, but not without some division.

The board elected Ralph Wince as president and Terri Lally as vice president at its organizational meeting Wednesday. However, board member Taylor Christian nominated himself for both positions, but was the only member to vote in his favor in both cases. The board is currently minus one member due to the resignation of Corey Yoakam effective Jan. 1.

Also at the meeting, the board approved compensation at $125 per meetings for 12 meetings and the annual Mahoning County Educational Service Center board meeting; set the board service fund for 2020 at $5,000; named Lally as Ohio School Board Association legislative liaison and Christian as student achievement liaison; agreed to name a board member as treasurer pro tempore when Treasurer Jim Phillips cannot attend meetings; and appointed the district superintendent as compliance officer for Title IX.

Christian voted against a consent agenda item regarding a number of standing resolutions regarding superintendent, treasurer and board authorizations, noting he does not trust Harrington, Hoppe and Mitchell for legal consultation.

The board also agreed to continue meeting at 7 p.m. the third Monday of each month at the K-12 complex.

At its regular monthly meeting following the reorganization, the board granted supplemental coaching contracts for the 2019-2020 school year to Hayli Davidson for girls varsity track, Joe Brooks for boys assistant track, Mark Bush for boys varsity track and Diane Krumpak for middle school assistant track; as well as coaching contracts for the 2020-2021 school year to Jim Hanek for high school golf, Dan Yeagley for football varsity, Yeagley for weightlifting and Diane Krumpak for varsity cross country.

The board also accepted the resignation of middle school teacher Karen Rast effective Jan. 10 and approved Jacklyn Walters as a long-term substitute for Rast for the remainder of the school year effective Jan. 8.

Additionally, schools Superintendent Dennis Dunham read a proclamation from Gov. Mike DeWine and Lt. Gov. Mike Husted in recognition of school board appreciation month and presented certificates of appreciation to each board member.

The next board meeting has been changed to 7 p.m. Feb. 10 at the K-12 complex.