Salem Community Foundation awards scholarships

(SFC Scholarship Group) The Salem Community Foundation has given out $100,300 in scholarships to 17 students for the Fall semester. Pictured from left in the first row are Laurel Stewart, Julia Dundon, Paige Bailey, Emily Weikart, Mackenzie Jeric, Abigail Cochran, Ellie Davidson, Lindsey Barnett, Camden Hergenrother, and Megan Griffith. Pictured from left in the second row are Scholarship Committee members Joe Sedzmak, Gary Moffett, and John Tonti, Joe Sedzmak, Gary Moffett, John Tonti, Kaitlynn Haas, Louisa Thomas, Wilson Corbisello, Nathan Martin, Adam Wilson, Nakkiya-Rose Plummer, Annie Davidson, Kyla Jamison, Ellysa Exline, Zoe DeLand, James Doerle, Joshua Young, Kyle Gentile, Robert Brownlee, and Scholarship Committee Co-Chairmen Brittany Maniscalco and Melissa Costa. (Salem News Photo by Morgan Ahart)

Staff Report

SALEM–The Salem Community Foundation has awarded $100,300 in scholarships to Salem students enrolled at seventeen colleges and universities according to a press release.

This year’s Scholarship Committee was chaired by Melissa Costa and Brittany Maniscalco, with Karl Getzinger, Gary Moffett, Lou Ramunno, Joe Sedzmak, and John Tonti serving as members.

The Salem Community Foundation has awarded scholarships to support the further education of Salem students since 1991, made possible through the support of individuals, families, and businesses who see the value of a college education. A combination of fifteen funds, joined at the donors’ request, form the Salem Community Foundation Scholarship Fund and provide Salem’s students with financial support as they pursue higher education.

Included are the funds of George Theiss, Paul and Olive Astry, Joseph G. Smith, Zella C. Litty, Louise C. Bunn, Freda S. Sweitzer, Russell B. McArtor, C. Harold Musser, Ethel B. Beall, Anna L. Thomas, F. Robert Mathews, L. Raymond Maurer, Mary Ellen Pizzino, the Corso family, and the Salem Scholarship Fund,

Scholarship funds established in memory of loved ones and named after their benefactor are granted annually through the funds of: Evelyn Lease, Sam and Bernice Keener, Avanell E. Beck, Lyle and Mary Biehler, Salem Label / Menegos, George and Jeanette Emeny, Betty Ruth Ulicny, the Anderson Family, the Hart / Litty Family, Bruce and Eileen Gordon, Herbert Hansell, and Jacqueline Troll.

The Ministerial Scholarship Fund was established in 2008 to provide scholarship aid individuals who wish to enter the fields of the Ministry, Christian Education, Youth Ministry, or a closely related field. The anonymous donor of the Ministerial Scholarship recognizes the monetary impact of a career in the ministry and wishes to support those individuals who display a sincere desire to dedicate their life to a career as defined by the guidelines of the scholarship.

Establishing a scholarship fund with the Salem Community Foundation will make a positive difference in the lives of deserving college students. The creation of a scholarship is attractive to many donors and can be structured to benefit students at any education level or for a specific college or university.

To learn about establishing a scholarship fund or contributing to an existing fund, please contact Melissa Costa at the Salem Community Foundation via email at scfoffice@salemcommunityfoundation.org or call 330-332-4021.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.61/week.

Subscribe Today