South Range BOE increasing exterior safety measures

CANFIELD – South Range schools will be increasing exterior safety measures thanks to state grant funding.

Schools Superintendent Bethany Carlson reported at the school board meeting this week the district received $146,189 in funding through the K-12 School Safety Grant Program. The funds will be used to address exterior issues such as fencing, door locks and key fob updates and other security measures identified during emergency response meetings with local police and fire agencies.

Carlson said the money had been allocated in the budget last fall, but the funds were not available at that time. She said the funds are now available and the district received 75 percent of the requested money.

Carlson also noted the district has a part-time school resource officer, in addition to the full-time one, who is on site four to five hours each day.

In other business, the board approved memorandums of understanding with the South Range Classified Education Assocaition (SRCEA) for a transition lead maintenance position and the South Range Education Assocaition (SREA) establishing how part-time employee contracts are handled.

The board also approved Sarah Stepan as an instructional aide, Kelsey Schuster (Popa) as a daily substitute, Eric Bodine to perform bus body repairs for the 2022-2023 school year, Matthew Furdich as a Tier 2 bus driver and Paula Lipke as superintendent secretary/EMIS coordinator.

The board also granted supplemental coaching and advisor contracts to David Buzzacco for middle school football head; Alexander Dickey, Zane Kreidler and Christopher Patrone for middle school football assistant; Martin Hutchinson for volunteer football; David Rach for assistant boys track; Lisa Dado for middle school girls track; Diane Krumpak for middle school assistant track; Meagan Frank for golf; Garrett Frank, volunteer golf assistant; Jeffrey DeRose for varsity softball; Drew Feren for softball assistant; Kimberly Hvizdos for elementary music director; Lauren Pavlansky for middle school volleyball head; Sarah Fischel for middle school assistant; Drew Feren for middle school assistant.

Additionally the board approved the High School Robotics Club for the 2022-2023 school year, with Erin Burns, Jeffrey Burns and Nikki Cardinal as unpaid volunteer advisors and Stephen Rohan as the financial advisor.

The board also approved for the 2022-2023 school year transportation workers Carla Yankowski as garage worker, Edward Schaefer and Stephen Kapus for maintenance, Paul Cubick as consultant and/or OBI and Tammy Witmer for OBI; volunteer advisors Samantha McMahon for the Popcorn and More fund account and Michelle Gaia for the SRInk program and fund account.

Also at the meeting the board accepted the resignations of Jamie Fromel as a cafeteria aide, Jennifer Lane as superintendent secretary/EMIS coordinator and Merian Coler as a bus driver.

The board also approved the title transfer for bus 27 to Edward Schafer Jr. and granted permission to operate social media accounts to girls soccer head coach Kelsey Benyo for Instagram and food management dircector Kaitlyn Pierce for Instagram.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.61/week.

Subscribe Today