CCRTA announces teacher grants

The Columbiana County Retired Teachers Association recognized each of the above four classroom teachers as a winner of a $250 Teacher Grant: (from left) Jennifer Rogers Martin of Southside Middle School, Dorothy Orlo of East Liverpool North Elementary, Kelly DeVille United Local Elementary and Kelsie Ray Markijohn Buckeye Elementary in Salem. (Submitted photo)

LISBON — The Columbiana County Retired Teachers Association gathered at the Lisbon United Methodist Church for its recent meeting. The CCRTA Executive Board conducted the business portion of the program.

Highlight of the luncheon was the announcement of the CCRTA Teacher Grant Award winners. All Columbiana County public school teachers were eligible to apply for the student-centered grants.

The Teacher Grant Selection Committee consisted of chairwoman Gayle Noel, Jerry Barnes, Rosemary Bruehler, Loretta Davidson, Nancy Dicken, Paula Patterson, Patty Petrisko and Sherry Seachrist.

The four presenters were:

Kelly DeVille, a United Local fifth and sixth grade math and science teacher, used her $250 to purchase products towards building a Science/Technology/Engineering/Math (STEM) lab for the entire elementary grades 1-6.

Kelsie Ray Markijohn, a second grade teacher at Buckeye Elementary in Salem, purchased flexible seating such as wiggle pads, wobble stools and balance ball chairs to allow her students with cognitive and physical issues the opportunity of meeting their individual classroom needs.

Jennifer Rogers Martin, a sixth grade teacher at South Side Middle School in Columbiana, used her award to purchase picture books to further enrich her language arts program.

Dorothy Orlo of East Liverpool city schools used her grant to supplement her Title I Intervention kindergarten and first grade Phonemic Awareness Training Program at North Elementary.

Special guests were: Andy Trotter, principal at United Elementary, Jack Cunningham, principal at North Elementary in East Liverpool, Paul Hobe, President of the Stark County Retired Teachers Association and Carol Kinsey, member of the Ohio Retired Teachers Association (ORTA) Executive Committee.

Nancy Dicken won the 50/50 raffle and donated her winnings to the Teacher Grant Fund.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)