Jr. League’s Pink Ribbon Survivor Tea set Aug. 19 at Struthers banquet center

The Junior League of the Mahoning Valley will hold its annual Pink Ribbon Survivor Tea Aug. 19 at the Embassy Banquet Center in Struthers. From left, event committee members Carol Sankovic, chair; Susan Berny, honorary chair; and Heather Elder, co-chair. (Submitted photo)

Youngstown-The 25th Annual Pink Ribbon Survivor Tea will be held at noon Aug. 19 at the Embassy Banquet Center, 5030 Youngstown-Poland Road., Struthers. Doors will open at 11 a.m. The Junior League of the Mahoning Valley, formerly named the Junior League of Youngstown, has presented this event to unite and celebrate breast cancer survivors in Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties.

The idea for the tea originated 25 years ago by Junior League member, Susan Berny, when the Ladies Professional Golf Tournament was held at the Avalon Golf Course in Howland. At the time, breast cancer was a cause advocated by the LPGA. Following her military service as a captain and nurse in the U.S. Army, she and her husband, the late Dr. James Berny, moved to Boardman. She saw that the Mahoning Valley had a high incidence of breast cancer, especially for underserved women and became involved in the Susan G, Komen Foundation of Northeast Ohio. For her longstanding dedication to the Pink Ribbon Tea and relentless work with the Susan G. Komen Foundation, Mrs. Berny will be recognized at the event as Honorary Chair.

Invitations have been sent to breast cancer survivors by the American Cancer Society Mercy Health Salem Regional Medical Center, Southwoods Health, Hope Cancer Center and community health organizations. Survivors are invited at no charge with area businesses and health organizations underwriting their luncheon. The cost for each guest of a survivor is $25. Seating is limited.

Guest speaker for the luncheon is Gina Chicotele, associate director of the Susan G. Komen Foundation of Northeast Ohio in Cleveland, who will update guests on the latest developments in the field of breast cancer care and unveil the Komen Foundation’s new promotion of “More than Pink.”

WFMJ TV 21 anchor Leslie Barrett will serve as emcee for day and Leanne Binder will provide the musical entertainment.

The Pink Ribbon Committee is chaired by Carol Sankovic and co-chaired by Heather Elder. Committee members include Barbara Banks, Rochella Basista, Susan Berny, Val Brickner, Mary Alice Boyd, Cathy Campana, Betty Cmil, Alison Cox, Evelyn Hall, Christina Davis-Henceroth, Gloria Detesco, Theresa Dellick, Allison Fortunato, Patricia Greene, Evelyn Hall, Debbie Hartig, Diane Hephner, Paula Jakubek, Cathy Kristan, Liz Kijowski. Carol Marino, Rose Memo, Chaney Nezbeth, Helen Paes, Kelley Schuler. Mercia Stevens, Marcelle Svenson and Lisa Szul.

Also, committee members are accepting items for raffle drawings. Donations and vendor tables are also available. For information about the Pink Ribbon Tea, contact the Junior League of the Mahoning Valley at juniorleagueofthemahoningvalley@gmail.com or at 330-742-3200.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.50/week.

Subscribe Today