Marra wins at Cambridge

CAMBRIDGE — Beaver Local had no equal in running away with the Cambridge Ivitational title on Saturday.

The Beavers had six individual champions and two runner-up finishers to score 296 points in the winning effort.

Beaver Local’s veteran group of Logan Ours (132), Cole McComas (138), Devon Salsberry (145), Skyler Lasure (152), Logan Krulik (160) and Daniel Wirth (285) all won their weight classes. Mark Emmerling (126) and Jonathan Potts (145) were second for Beaver Local.

Minerva finished fourth as a team with Jacob Norris (120), Logan Williams (220) and Jarrett Burress (285) taking second.

West Branch finished eighth as a team as Kenny Marra won at 195. Steven Marra was second at 170.

TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Beaver 296; 2. West Holmes 220; 3. Athens 178; 4. Minerva 177.5; 5. Miami Trace 171; 6. New Lexington 148.5; 7. River View 135.5; 8. West Branch 122.5; 9. Indian Valley 122; 10. Sheridan 98.5; 11. Cambridge 96.5; 12. Logan Elm 92; 13. Black River 46.5; 14. Morgan 46; 15. Philo 12; 16. Orrville 6


106: Alexander Crane (Sheridan) dec. Jack Welsh (West Holmes) 7-3

113: Weston Melvin (Miami Trace) dec. Tyler Beckley (Indian Valley) 5-0

120: Cael Woods (West Holmes) maj. dec. Jacob Norris (Minerva) 11-1

126: Tyler Masters (West Holmes) dec. Mark Emmerling (Beaver) 4-2

132: Logan Ours (Beaver) tech. fall Kody Beal (New Lexington) 16-0

138: Cole McComas (Beaver) maj. dec. Hayden Martin (River View) 14-4

145: Devon Salsberry (Beaver) dec. Jonathan Potts (Beaver) 3-1

152: Skyler Lasure (Beaver) dec. Mcale Callahan (Miami Trace) 8-3

160: Logan Krulik (Beaver) dec. Walker Uhl (West Holmes) 5-2

170: Jacob Armstrong (Indian Valley) maj. dec. Steven Marra (West Branch) 14-3

182: Layne Talbot (New Lexington) pin Justin Bartlett (Cambridge) 3:53

195: Kenny Marra (West Branch) pin Bill Wallace (Athens), 5:20

220: Dalton Cunningham (River View) pin Logan Williams (Minerva) 1:40

285: Daniel Wirth (Beaver) dec. Jarrett Burress (Minerva) 4-3

Tigers on top

MALVERN — Wellsville’s wrestling team took first on Saturday at the Malvern Hornet Invitational.

The Tigers had 187 points to take first. Carrollton’s reserves finished second with 146 points.

Wellsville’s Jason Tice took first at 132 and Justin Sarge won at 152. Finishing second for the Tigers was Jake McNemar at 170 and Isaac Ice at 285.

Isaiah Crow was third at 120 with Mason Simms (106) also taking third. Logan Cunningham had a third-place finish for the Tigers at 138 as did Caden Weekley at 220.

For United, Deric Ellison was first at 195 and Bodey Kiko was first at 220. Christian McCon was second at 182. Jensen Baker (126) was third.

Finishing fourth for United was Jack Strader (152) and Tyler Lippiatt (182).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today