Watch the Purple Raiders

ALLIANCE — It’s always Mount Union football season. WIVM-TV in Canton will broadcast two classic Mount Union football games today on Spectrum Channel 989 in Stark County and online at WIVMTV.com.

At 2 p.m., the 2018 game featuring top-ranked Mount Union hosting No. 15 John Carroll, which was returning to Mount Union Stadium for the first time since its 2016 win snapped the Purple Raiders’ 112-game regular-season win streak.

At 8 p.m., the 1993 national semifinal game between Mount Union, led by the arm of quarterback Jim Ballard, and St. John’s (Minn.), the highest-scoring team in the nation. It was first time the Purple Raiders hosted a national semifinal game as they were trying to get to their first Stagg Bowl.

In between the two Mount Union games, the 1997 high school football playoff game between Canton McKinley and Cleveland St. Ignatius will be broadcast.

All-OVAC wrestling team

Named to the All-Ohio Valley Athletic Conference wrestling team are Beaver Local’s Mark Emmerling Jr., Logan Ours, Skyler Lasure and Logan Krulik; Crestview’s A.J. Coppersmith; East Liverpool’s Howard Williams and Skylor Wooley; Oak Glen’s Peyton Hall, Camden Barr; Southern Local’s Hunter Morris and Dylan Milhoan; Wellsville’s Justin Sarge; and Edison’s Hayden Johnson.

Wrestlers who finished first or second in the OVAC championships are automatic selections, while each coach also has the opportunity to place another wrestler on the list.

Day full of prep stars

BRISTOL, Conn. — The 2003 McDonald’s All-American boys game in Cleveland featuring three-time Ohio Mr. Basketball LeBron James highlights an 18-hour slate on ESPN2 today.

The high school appearances of some of the NBA’s biggest stars are in the ESPN2 schedule that includes:

6 p.m., 2019 McDonald’s girls game (Kierstan Bell, Haley Jones, Jordan Horston, Aliyah Boston).

7:30 a.m., 2019 McDonald’s boys game (James Wiseman, Cole Anthony, Isaiah Stewart).

9:30 a.m., 2018 McDonald’s boys game (Zion Williamson, R.J. Barrett, Cam Reddish, Colby White)

11:30 a.m., 2007 McDonald’s boys game (James Harden, Derrick Rose, Blake Griffin, Kevin Love)

1:30 p.m., 2003 McDonald’s boys game (LeBron James, Chris Paul, Luol Deng).

3:30 p.m., 2019 Powerade Jam Fest (Francesca Belibi, James Wiseman).

4:30 p.m., 1993 McDonald’s High School Slam (Jerry Stackhouse, Charles O’Bannon).

5 p.m., 2013 Powerade Jam Fest (Jabrari Parker, Andrew Wiggins, Aaron Gordon).

6 p.m., 2004 Powerade Jam Fest (Candace Parker, J.R. Smith, Rudy Gay, Joe Crawford).

7 p.m., 1995 McDonald’s High School Slam (Vince Carter, Paul Pierce).

7:30 p.m., 1996 McDonald’s High School Slam (Kobe Bryant, Lester Earl, Corey Benjamin, Richard Hamilton).

8 p.m., 2003 Powerade Jam Fest (LeBron James, Shannon Brown, Charlie Villanueva).

9 p.m., 2018 Powerade Jam Fest (Zion Williamson, Darius Garland, Olivia Nelson-Ododa).

10 p.m., 2002 Sprite Slam Jam (Camelo Anthony, Amar’e Stoudemire, JJ Reddick).

11 p.m., 2007 Powerade Jam Fest (Blake Griffin, Eric Gordon, Michael Beasley).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)