Riccardo, Jackson Grodhaus head county all-stars

Beaver Local senior Jenna Riccardo along with East Liverpool senior Tresean Jackson and Southern Local senior Cam Grodhaus captured top honors on the 2019-20 Columbiana County all-star basketball teams.

They were named Columbiana County players of the year in balloting by county coaches on Sunday.

Riccardo is the girls player of the year a second straight year.

She averaged 21 points and 13 rebounds with 20 double-doubles this season for the 13-11 Beavers. She is first in school history with 1,767 career points and 1,032 rebounds.

Riccardo and Lisbon senior Maddie Liberati were the girls unanimous selections.

Jackson finished as East Liverpool’s all-time leading scorer with 1,387 career points. He averaged 22.3 points and 5.4 assists for the the Potters, who went 18-6 and advanced the district finals.

Grodhaus led the Indians to a school-best 18-7 record and reached the district championship game for the fourth time in school history. He averaged 21.0 points and 3.8 assists a game and finished as the school’s third all-time scoring leaders.

Jackson and Grodhaus were unanimous boys selections along with Columbiana senior Matthew Mazei, Crestview junior Drake Golden and East Palestine sophomore Jonathan Bertovich.

Coaches of the year are Columbiana’s Todd Johnson for the boys and Crestview’s Ethan Blatch for the second straight year for the girls.

Johnson led the Clippers to a 19-5 season and the Eastern Ohio Athletic Conference title, their first league title in 12 years.

Blatch guided the Rebels to a 16-9 season and an impressive 69-53 win over Liberty in the Struthers Division III district semifinal.

Jackson, Grodhaus and Golden return to the first team and are joined by Mazei, Bertovich, Lisbon junior Ryan McCullough, Wellsville senior Darien Suggs and Beaver Local senior Luke Chetock.

The boys second team includes Wellsville junior Luke Green, Columbiana senior Hunter Zentner, Heartland Christian senior Cade Roth, Lisbon junior Blayne Brownfield, East Liverpool senior Brennan O’Hara, Salem junior Hunter Griffith, Southern Local junior Brock Smalley and United junior Keaton Baker.

Columbiana senior Kayla Muslovski in the girls first team for a fourth time. Riccardo, Lisbon senior Izzy Perez and Crestview junior Krista Perry are first-teamers for a third straight year and Salem junior Kyla Jamison for a second straight year.

Riccardo, Liberati, Muslovski, Perez, Perry and Jamison are joined on the first team by East Palestine junior Joclyn Fristik and East Liverpool senior Emma Ludwig.

The girls second team includes Columbiana senior Grace Hammond, United senior Bailey Boosz, Crestview senior Tanner Hoffer, Heartland Christian senior Sydney Ogden, Leetonia senior Anna Buffone, Salem junior Casey Johnson, Wellsville senior Cameron Carlevale and Columbiana junior Grace Witmer.



Player Class School

Tresean Jackson Sr. East Liverpool

Cam Grodhaus Sr. Southern Local

Matthew Mazei Sr. Columbiana

Drake Golden Jr. Crestview

Jonathan Bertovich Soph. East Palestine

Ryan McCullough Jr. Lisbon

Darien Suggs Sr. Wellsville

Luke Chetock Sr. Beaver Local


Luke Green Jr. Wellsville

Hunter Zentner Sr. Columbiana

Cade Roth Sr. Heartland

Blayne Brownfield Jr.. Lisbon

Brennan O’Hara Sr. East Liverpool

Hunter Griffith Jr. Salem

Brock Smalley Jr. Southern Local

Keaton Baker Jr. United


Josh Hilditch (Beaver Local); Sean Whitehead (Columbiana); Kirkland Miller (Crestview); Timmy Neal (East Liverpool); Brandon Turcola (East Palestine); Steven Baker (Heartland Christian); Ian Davis, Marco Ferry (Leetonia); Michael Davis (Lisbon); Drew Weir (Salem); Jayce Sloan (Southern Local); Nathan Miller (United); Justin Talbert (Wellsville).


Tresean Jackson (East Liverpool)

Cam Grodhaus (Southern)


Todd Johnson (Columbiana)



Player Class School

Jenna Riccardo Sr. Beaver Local

Maddie Liberati Sr. Lisbon

Joclyn Fristik Jr. East Palestine

Kayla Muslovski Sr. Columbiana

Krista Perry Jr. Crestview

Izzy Perez Sr. Lisbon

Kyla Jamison Jr. Salem

Emma Ludwig Sr. East Liverpool


Grace Hammond Sr. Columbiana

Bailey Boosz Sr. United

Tanner Hoffer Sr. Crestview

Sydney Ogden Sr. Heartland

Anna Buffone Sr. Leetonia

Casey Johnson Jr. Salem

Cameron Carlevale Sr. Wellsville

Grace Witmer Jr. Columbiana


Madison Cline (Beaver Local); Tori Long (Columbiana); Mara Halas (Crestview); Ciara Peachey (East Liverpool); Payton Sherry (East Palestine); Madi Matthews (Heartland Christian); Taran Ferry (Leetonia); Bryanna VanGiesen (Lisbon); Jaden Hamilton (Salem); Erin Boyle, Olivia Kerns (Southern Local); Morgan Hovorka (United); Hunter Weekley (Wellsville).


Jenna Riccardo (Beaver Local)


Aaron Blatch (Crestview)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)