West Branch heads to Div. IV in football

Southern Local and West Branch both fell a division in football after the Ohio High School Athletic Association announced division alignments for the 2020 season on Friday.

Southern, who made the playoffs in Div. VI the last two seasons, is now in Div. VII for the first time.

West Branch dropped down from Div. III to Div. IV. The last time the Warriors played in Div. IV was 2016.

All other area football teams remain in the same divisions as 2019.

Salem, East Liverpool, Beaver Local, Minerva and West Branch will be a part of Div. IV, Region 13. Notable teams in that region include Girard, Cleveland Glenville, Perry, Poland, Struthers and Youngstown Ursuline.

Crestview and South Range were barely able to hold onto to their Div. V distinctions. The Rebels and Raiders were the final two teams to make the Div. V cutoff and will return to play in Region 17. Joining the region this season will be Youngstown Cardinal Mooney. Other notable teams in the region are Buckeye Local, Edison, Harrison Central, Kirtland, Youngstown Liberty, Akron Manchester and Martins Ferry.

In Div. VI, Eastern Ohio Athletic Conference members Columbiana, East Palestine and United remain in Region 21. Notable teams in that region include, Brookfield, Canton Central Catholic, Labrae, Campbell Memorial, Minerval Ridge, Mogadore, Newton Falls and Springfield.

In Div. VII, Lisbon, Leetonia, Sebring, Southern and Wellsville will play in Region 25. Notable teams there include Steubenville Central, Cuyahoga Heights, Independence, Jackson-Milton, Warren JFK, Lowellville, McDonald, Toronto and Valley Christian.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)