Prep baseball returns

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Prep baseball has returned to Iowa.

Colfax-Mingo faced Tri-County on Monday as Iowa became the first state to have a varsity baseball game since the coronavirus pandemic closed down sports across the country in mid-March, the Des Moines Register reported.

In addition to the baseball game played at 11,500-seat Principal Park, home to the Chicago Cubs’ Triple-A team, the Iowa Cubs, A number of softball games in Iowa started later in the day, the newspaper reported.

The game between two schools with less than 200 enrollments, in front of an announced crowd of 361, was possible because Iowa sponsors high school sports in the summer. It is the only state to do so.

Colfax-Mingo used a seven-run seventh-inning for a 10-0 win over Tri-County.

McCormick won Cy

CORNELIUS, N.C. (AP) — Longtime Giants pitcher Mike McCormick, who won the Cy Young Award in 1967, has died. He was 81.

The Giants say McCormick died Saturday at his home in North Carolina after a long battle with Parkinson’s disease.

McCormick played 16 years in the majors from 1956-71 with the Giants, Orioles, Senators, Yankees and Royals. He had a 134-128 record with a 3.73 ERA and his greatest accomplishments came with the Giants.

“We are deeply saddened by the loss of Mike McCormick, a true gentleman and forever Giant,” Giants President and CEO Larry Baer said. “Like many Giants fans, I have many fond childhood memories of watching Mike pitch at Candlestick Park and then was blessed to call him my friend these past 30 years.”

Junior tops class

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) – Dale Earnhardt Jr. spent his whole life chasing meaningful rewards.

He waited longingly for a pat on the back from his famous father, worked diligently to generate compliments from crew members and other drivers and reveled in the roar of his fans — those he inherited from his father and the new ones he brought along for the ride.

NASCAR’s longtime fan favorite received the sport’s biggest honor Tuesday, being selected to join his father in the series’ Hall of Fame. Earnhardt will be inducted in Charlotte, North Carolina, along with the late Mike Stefanik and 87-year-old Red Farmer, who is planning to race on Talladega’s dirt track this weekend. Ralph Seagraves was named the Landmark Award winner for his contributions to the sport.

Despite never winning a series championship, Earnhardt still received 76% of the votes cast on the modern era ballot.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)